Philippines Hidden Gem: Tambaron Island

It’s summer time but I haven’t been to the beach yet. So when I saw Travel Factor (TF) Ultimate Beach Bumming Experience in Tambaron Island, Bulalacao Oriental Mindoro, I register and joined the trip. After all, I’ll have a long weekend from May 1 to 3. I chose this trip against the other trips offered since this is not yet famous like Boracay. It’s Labor Day holiday so most of the Pinoys will be out enjoying this holiday. I wanted a quiet and relaxing vacation at the beach.
Getting to Tambaron Island is a challenge especially for me as I’m coming from Baguio City. Had to endure the five (5) hour bus ride going down from Baguio to Cubao as this is our meet up place. Bus ride from Jam Liner Cubao Terminal to Batangas port is the first ride going to this hidden gem. After that, we need to ride a Ro-ro going to Calapan port. This is my first time to ride a ro-ro so I’m very excited.

1

IMG_3158

Then, we need to endure a four (4) hour van ride to Bulalacao Island. That long, right? Yes since Bulalacao is the 11th municipality of Oriental Mindoro. It was actually a fast ride since they have good roads and no traffic. And ride a fifteen (15) minute boat ride going to Tambaron Island.

And voila!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

perfect weather to swim 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

walk with me

Getting to know each other first with the group of 14 participants.

Tambaron Island Beach Bummers :-)

Tambaron Island Beach Bummers 🙂

Bim is my new friend who loves taking photos just like me. Sorry Andrea, had to steal him from you. Thanks to Tita Margie – we heard lots of good stories from her. I’ve learned so much from her, no boring moments. Plus lots of eating – local berries and kakayanin with a side dish of Tita Mayordoma/Owner blustering voice.

with Bim and Tita Margie

with Bim and Tita Margie

Before going to the Daang Malaki beach, we had to hike first. Unfortunately, we can’t swim as it’s low tide so had to take pictures first.

with Natty and Jinky

with Natty and Jinky

almost there

almost there

welcome

welcome

with Bim

with Bim

low tide

low tide

hiding?!?

hiding?!?

amazing view

amazing view

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

come and get me..lol!

come and get me..lol!

jump for joy :-)

jump for joy 🙂

Tambaron Island

Tambaron Island

look at the moon

look at the moon

Kayaking with Bim with the beautiful sunset ends adventure day 1.

IMG_3199

IMG_3201 IMG_3204 IMG_3205

with Andrea

with Andrea

sunset at Tambaron Island

sunset at Tambaron Island

Woke up early as our Island Hopping tour will start at 8am. Unfortunately, the boat is two hours late so we started late and had to missed one island as it’s low tide already.

excited for our Island hopping - Day 2 (May 2)

excited for our Island hopping – Day 2 (May 2)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_3185 IMG_3188 IMG_3194

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

First stop: Target Island

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

the girls - Tita Margie, me, Bim and Andrea

the girls – Tita Margie, me, Bim and Andrea

IMG_3192

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I'm the Queen of the world!!!

I’m the Queen of the world!!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_3236IMG_3238IMG_3245IMG_3240OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Second stop: Aslom Island

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIMG_3249 IMG_3250 IMG_3251   OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_3206

Beware of sea urchin. I accidentally bumped my feet to the sea urchin. Good thing our boatman has vinegar, this is used to remove the sting.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Last Stop: Snorkeling at Carbon Island

IMG_3213

IMG_3234 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIMG_3235   OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We had to transfer to a small boat to be able go back to Tambaron Island as it’s low tide again.

IMG_3215

Still had lots of time so Bim and I explored Tambaron Island again.

IMG_3227 IMG_3229 IMG_3231 IMG_3232 IMG_3233

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Another magnificent sunset at Tambaron Island

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

May 3: No energy to swim so Bim and I had to take photos around the island only while the rest watched the Pacquiao-Mayweather fight. Sadly, our champ Pacquio lose the fight. 😦

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_3220IMG_3222OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Left Tambaron Island at 1pm and arrived in Cubao at 11pm. Another exciting ride again via boat – van – roro – bus.

This ends my Tambaron Island Trip. Another memorable trip with TF. 🙂 I love doing solo trip as I meet new awesome people.

Looking forward to a new adventure soon….

Leave a Reply

