When in Dumaguete

This should have been my Ultimate Beach Bumming Experience with Travel Factor (TF) – going to Dumaguete Apo Island and Siquijor. But since they had a small number of participants, they had to cancel this trip. Unfortunately, I already booked a flight to Dumaguete. I don’t want my ticket to go waste…so I decided to push this trip alone. Anyway, Dumaguete is known as the “Land of Gentle People”. So I guess, I can go on this trip on my own. I just need to take extra careful since this will be my official “solo” trip. I usually joined group tours so it’s not really a solo trip. But this time, I’m on my own, no group to join. This would be a good experience for me to test how strong and independent I am now.
Despite the typhoon, I still push this trip. The weather is fine in Dumaguete although there’s a little rain but you can still roam and see the tourist spots.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I don’t usually go to fancy hotels…a decent hotel that I can sleep is good enough. I stayed in The Gazeebo Pension House – cost per night is Php 700 ($15/night). It’s near the Police Station and walking distance only from Dumaguete tourist spot. You can also tour Dumaguete via tricycle (Fare is Php 10 only).

So what to do when in Dumaguete?!?

1. Feed your Eyes
Dumaguete Cathedral. This is Negros Oriental’s oldest stone church, built in the 17th century is the seat of the Dumaguete diocese. The Mass to celebrate the liberation of the Province from the Spanish on November 24, 1898 was held in it’s ground.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 5

Campanario De Dumaguete. This is the most popular landmark in Negros Oriental, built as a lookout tower to warn locals of impending raids by seafaring marauders. The first two levels added around 1870. Buttresses keep it earthquake-proof. The belfry’s biggest and also oldest bell is dated 1818.

3

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rizal Boulevard. This was named after Dr. Jose Rizal – our National Hero. It has been said that he had made a brief visit and took a stroll here before departing to the neighboring island of Dapitan, Dipolog City where he was exiled for four years following the Spanish authorities’ suspicion that he was about to lead a revolution. It stretches 780 meters long and is considered the “show window of Dumaguete City.”

20 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2. Feed your Mouth. My favorite part of the trip. Enjoying the food and artsy cafes.

Jo’s Chicken Inato. Eating using my hands – no fork & spoon. Be sure to wash your hands. I love their achara.

4

Dexter’s Pizza. Enjoyed eating their shawarma pizza. A must try when in Dumaguete.

1

Panda Ice Cream Haus. Must try the fried ice cream. It’s a luscious vanilla, ube, pandan and choco ice cream wrapped in dough and fried.

10

Sans Rivals Cakes & Pastries. I super love their sans rivals and silvanas. It’s a blend of mouth watering meringue, nuts and other choice of ingredients wrapped in rich butter cream. I could stay here forever.

11

Local Suman at the Market.

7 6

Oppa Cafe. In love with this place – coffee and books together.1312

2 Storey Kitchen. Good place to seat and relax.

2

Gabby’s Bistro. Perfect place for photoshoot.

9 8

Hayahay Lab-as. They said, it’s a good place to go out for a night drink. Visited the place at lunch time.

Poppy’s Coffee. The needed drink while waiting for my SU Campus Tour.

22
3. Feed your Brain at Siliman University. This is the first private American Protestant University in Asia and known all over the Phils and outside for it’s prestigious education; founder 1901.

I requested for a Campus Ambassador to tour me around Siliman University. You can contact them via email at campusambassadors@su.edu.ph. They gave me two student volunteers and they’re both good guides. I enjoyed the tour and the fun facts.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

with the SU Campus Ambassadors 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

24

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

SU Library

SU Library

25

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m so impressed thay they truly value the church. No other structure should be higher or taller than the  Siliman University Church. And yes, it’s still the highest structure in SU.

23

Don’t forget to buy “pasalubong” at Handumanan.

Trip Date: August 7-10, 2015

5 thoughts on “When in Dumaguete

Leave a Reply

